Professional Members
June 28, 2017 By Zainab Ali
Teaming up with health-care professionals at Leadership Forum 2017

Pictured: Dr. Parmjit Sohal (Co-Chair of Professional Interest Groups) and Donna Hagerty (Co-Chair of Membership and Awards)

Over the past two years, Diabetes Canada has produced a Leadership Forum to support the work of our professional volunteers. This event, held in June, brought together members of our Professional Section for a face-to-face networking session with the goals of learning more about Diabetes Canada’s work  and sharing ideas about how Diabetes Canada can effectively work with our health-care partners.

This year’s Leadership Forum was the first to bring together a range of diabetes health-care professionals (separate events were held previously for diabetes educators and clinicians).

Presentations by health-care professionals covered topics such as mindfulness, stigma and healthy choices. And Diabetes Canada staff talked about our 2020 Vision, the End Diabetes movement, advocacy, fundraising and our Clinical Practice Guidelines.

For health-care professional volunteers the event was an opportunity to increase their knowledge about diabetes-related treatments and best practices – and to share this learning with colleagues and patients. It was also a chance for them to learn more about Diabetes Canada programs and services.

These volunteers devote their time and expertise to help people living with diabetes. Building and strengthening these relationships provides Diabetes Canada an opportunity to support, develop and grow within all communities across Canada.

We thank the 2017 Professional Section Executive for their leadership role in working with Diabetes Canada on these projects.  

Are you a health-care provider? Learn about the benefits of becoming a Diabetes Canada Professional Member.

Professional Section Executive:

Michelle Corcoran, RD, CDE – Co-Chair of Professional Section Executive
Ron Sigal, MD – Co-Chair of Professional Section Executive
Shelley Jones, RN, CDE – Co-Chair Elect of Professional Section Executive
Peter Senior, MD – Co-Chair Elect of Professional Section Executive
Lori Berard, RN, CDE – Past Co-Chair of Professional Section Executive
Jay Silverberg, MD – Past Co-Chair of Professional Section Executive
Susie Jin, Pharm, CDE – Co-Chair of the Professional Interest Group
Parmjit Sohal, MD – Co-Chair of the Professional Interest Group
Amy Hui, RD, CDE – Co-Chair of Marketing & Communications
Harpeet Bajaj, MD – Co Chair of Marketing & Communications
Donna Hagerty, RN, CDE – Co-Chair of Membership & Awards
Simon Wing, MD – Co-Chair of Membership & Awards
Rema Sanghera, RD, CDE – Co-Chair of Professional Development
Celine Huot, MD – Co-Chair of Professional Development
Gail MacNeill, RN, CDE – Co-Chair of Quality
Carol Huang, MD – Co-Chair of Quality
Brain Rodrigues, PhD – Chair of Research
Brandon Galm, MD – Chair of Resident Council’s

You must be logged in to comment


No Comments Yet

Be the first to comment

Keep diabetes research moving forward

Your donation will ensure research never stops – help End Diabetes Now.