Skip to Content

Diabetes Canada and CIHR INMD - Early Career Researcher Partnership Award

Diabetes Canada established the Early Career Researcher Award in 1987 for the purpose of encouraging, by appropriate recognition, outstanding research conducted in Canada in the field of diabetes. This award continues today with the support of research funding from Diabetes Canada and CIHR-INMD.

The award consists of a personalized plaque, a cash award and travel and accommodation to attend the Diabetes Canada/CSEM Professional Conference. The award recipient is recognized at and invited to give a research lecture during the Diabetes Canada/CSEM Professional Conference.

Past award recipients

Year Recipient
2023 Dr. Jonathan Schertzer
2022 Dr. Sonia Butalia
2021 Dr. Francis Lynn
2020 Dr. Jennifer Estall
2019 Dr. David Cherney
2018 Dr. Patrick McDonald
2017 Dr. Gregory Steinberg
2016 Dr. James D. Johnson
2015 Dr. Bruce Perkins
2014 Dr. Rob Screaton
2013 Dr. Tony Lam
2012 Dr. Andre Carpentier
2011 Dr. Minna Woo
2010 Dr. Timothy Kieffer
2009 Dr. Vincent Poitout
2008 Dr. Jeffrey A. Johnson
2007 Dr. Peter Light
2006 Dr. C. Bruce Verchere
2005 Dr. André Marette
2004 Dr. Gregory Korbutt
2003 Dr. Micheal Wheeler
2002 Dr. Robert Hegele
2001 Dr. Gary Lewis
2000 Dr. Pere Santamaria
1999 Dr. Hertzel Gerstein
1998 Dr. Patricia Brubaker
1997 Dr. Jean-pierre Després
1996 Dr. Daniel Drucker
1995 Dr. Diane Finegood
1993 Dr. George Fantus
1991 Dr. Gerald Van de Werve
1990 Dr. Amira Klip
1988 Dr. Bernard Zinman
1987 Dr. Jerry Radziuk


A nominee must:

  • Be an early career researcher. An early career researcher is a researcher within ten years from the date of their first research-related or faculty appointment, minus eligible delays in research, where:
    • research-related appointments are defined as those where the individual has the autonomy to conduct research independently; and
    • all eligible leaves (e.g., maternity, parental, medical, bereavement) are credited as twice the amount of time taken, and professional leaves (e.g., training, sabbatical, administrative) are not credited.
  • Be either a Canadian citizen or resident of Canada, conducting research in the field of diabetes at an institution located in Canada.
  • Have contributed to the Canadian diabetes community through the commitment of time, skill and/or new knowledge or discovery in diabetes research.

Nomination procedure

Nominations must be made by two diabetes clinicians or scientists who are Canadian citizens or residents of Canada and hold an MD or PhD.

The first nominator is responsible for coordinating the nomination and for completing the online nomination form with the required information, including uploading:

  1. curriculum vitae of the nominee;
  2. a list of up to (but not exceeding) ten of the nominee’s most significant publications;
  3. two letters (one each from the nominator and seconder) indicating the reasons for submitting this particular nomination.

Nominations will stand for three years, on the condition that the nominee remains eligible within the eligibility criteria.

Selection process

Nominations will be reviewed by Diabetes Canada's National Research Council. The National Research Council consists of research experts across the country who represent the four pillars of research and are active researchers within the diabetes community.

Nomination deadline

Nominations must be submitted online using the online nomination form by June 28, 2024.

In the event that no suitable nomination is made, the award will be deferred for this year.

Nomination form

Submit nominations using the online form

Contact us

For more information or to submit your nomination

Research team