Diabetes Educator of the Year

Whitney Gowanlock RN BScN CDE

SPONSOR: Lifescan Canada Ltd $1,000.00

This award is presented to an active DES member in good standing who has demonstrated outstanding effort and achievement as a Diabetes Educator.

Honorary Lifetime Membership

2010 Recipients: Lee McNiven RN CDE, Jacqui Tofflemire-Flood RN CDE

SPONSOR: Diabetes Educator Section

The DES grants honorary lifetime membership to recognize active DES members whose longstanding excellence in practice and significant contributions have improved the quality of life for people affected by diabetes.

Outstanding DES Chapter of the Year

Mavis Verronneau, Montreal Chapter

SPONSOR: Pfizer Canada $1,000.00

This award recognizes a DES chapter that has demonstrated leadership and support of the goals of the DES and the CDA.

Distinguished DES Volunteer Service Award

2010 Recipients: Cheryl Colborne, RN BScN BEd CDE (Chapter), Denise Gaizauskas RN BN CDE (National), Tracy Everitt MAdEd RD CDE (Provincial)

SPONSOR: BD Diabetes Care $1,500.00

The award, valued at $500 each, is presented to three active DES members who have contributed significantly as volunteers.

Graduate Scholarship

Vanessa Donnelly RN BA BN MN(c)

SPONSOR: Eli Lilly Canada Inc. $5,000.00

This scholarship is awarded to enable active DES members to pursue graduate or postgraduate studies in a diabetes-related field. 

Brian Dufton Memorial Manuscript Award

Dr. Hugh Tildesley

SPONSOR: Canadian Journal of Diabetes $1,000.00

This award recognizes an outstanding original manuscript published in the Canadian Journal of Diabetes.

Camp Educator Award

Sharleen Herrmann RN BSN CDE CPT

SPONSOR: Abbott Diabetes Care $750.00

This award is presented to an active DES member who has shown commitment and dedication to helping children with type 1 diabetes experience summer camp.

Practical Diabetes Resource Award

Tanya Cockburn RD, Jetta Johnson RD

SPONSOR: Abbott Diabetes Care $750.00

This award is presented to active DES members who have developed a culturally sensitive educational tool for use in their practice.

Accu-Chek Public Service and Education Award

Shelley Esposto RN BScN CDE

SPONSOR: Roche Diagnostics $2,000.00

This award recognizes the efforts of active diabetes educators who have done exceptional work in promoting awareness of diabetes and who have developed programs to assist people living with diabetes.

Novo Nordisk Conference Scholarship Awards

Shelagh Mercer RN CDE, Heather Nichol RN BScN MScN CDE, Lisa Orasanin RN MN CDE, Sharon Rouatt RN CDE, Laura Thompson RD BScN

SPONSOR: Novo Nordisk Canada Inc. $5,000.00

Scholarships of up to $1,000 each are offered to active DES members to attend the CDA/CSEM professional conference and annual meetings for professional development.

DES Length of Service Awards

2010 Recipients:
10 Years: Michèle Comeau RN CDE
15 Years: Lynn Baughan RN BScN MN CDE
15 Years: Mary Cheeseman RD CDE
20 Years: Janice Knapp RN CDE
35 Years: Louise LeFebvre RDN BSc CDE

The DES Length of Service Award is instituted for DES volunteers. They must work on their own time, and not as part of a job description or expectation.

Keep diabetes research moving forward

Your donation will ensure research never stops – help End Diabetes Now.