The 2007 Diabetes Educator Section Award Recipients will be presented at the CDA/CSEM Professional Conference and Annual Meetings being held in Vancouver, B.C., October 2007.

Diabetes Educator of the Year

Beverley Anne Harris, NS

SPONSOR: Lifescan Canada Ltd $1,000.00

This award is presented to a DES member, in good standing, who has demonstrated outstanding efforts and achievements in their role as a Diabetes Educator.  DES members must be nominated by a Canadian Diabetes Association member to be considered in the award selection process.

Honorary Lifetime Membership Award

Anne Belton, AB

SPONSOR: Diabetes Educator Section

The Diabetes Educator Section grant honorary lifetime membership to recognize active DES members who long standing excellence in practice and significant contribution have improved the quality of life for people affected by diabetes.

Outstanding DES Chapter of the Year

Edmonton & District Chapter

SPONSOR: Pfizer Canada $1,000.00

This award is designed to recognize a DES chapter that has demonstrated leadership and support of the goals of DES and the Canadian Diabetes Association.  Award selection is done from the Annual Report submitted by each DES Chapter.

Distinguished DES Volunteer Service Award

National:  Colleen Rand, MB
Regional: Susan Schaefer, BC
Chapter: Rhea Lounsberry, ON

SPONSOR: BD Diabetes Care $500.00

This award is presented to three members of DES who have contributed significantly as volunteers within Diabetes Educator Section of Canadian Diabetes Association. One winner will be selected from each level of DES, Chapter, Regional/Provincial and National. DES members must be nominated by an association member to be considered for this award.

Eli Lilly Graduate Scholarship

Amy Leung Hui, MB

SPONSOR: Eli Lilly Canada Inc. $5,000.00

A scholarship is awarded to enable a DES member to pursue graduate or post graduate studies in a diabetes-related field. Studies at Canadian Universities will receive preference.

Great-West Life, London Life, and Canada Life Graduate Scholarship

Lifeng Fan, ON

SPONSOR: Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life $7,500.00

A scholarship is awarded to enable a DES member to pursue graduate or post graduate studies in a diabetes-related field. Studies at Canadian Universities will receive preference.

Brian Dufton Memorial Manuscript Award

Helen Jones, ON
Barbara Cleave, ON
Christie Hamilton, ON
Denice S. Feig, ON

SPONSOR: Canadian Journal of Diabetes $1,000.00

This award is to recognize an outstanding original manuscript published in the Canadian Journal of Diabetes Care (CJDC). The award committee selects the best manuscript from the top four manuscripts selected by the CJDC Editorial Board.

Camp Educator Award

Pauline Melanson, BC

SPONSOR: Abbott Laboratories $750.00

This award is presented to a DES member who has shown commitment and dedication to diabetes camping.

Practical Diabetes Resource Award

Léna Laberge, ON

SPONSOR: Abbott Laboratories $750.00

These awards are presented to a DES member who has developed a culturally sensitive educational tool that has been used within the diabetes educator’s practice.

Accu-Chek Public Service and Education Award

Vanessa Nardelli, AB

SPONSOR: Roche Diagnostics $2,000.00

This award is designed to recognize the efforts of those diabetes educators who have done exceptional work in promoting awareness of diabetes and developing programs to assist people who must live with this condition.

Educational Resource Grant

Edith Zimmermann, ON

SPONSOR: Diabetes Educator Section $500.00

These grants are designed to financially assist the development and sharing of educational resources by DES members. Submissions for these grants must be received by October 1st and April 1st of each year.

DES Continuing Education Award

Charlene McNulty, NB

SPONSOR: Diabetes Educator Section $1,000.00

This award is designed to promote the professional development of DES members by supporting preceptorship and/or study to advance skill and knowledge of diabetes education.

Being There Conference Scholarship Award

Kerry Schubert-Mackey, ON
Lifeng Fan, ON
Mia Chroney, BC
Arlene Wolfe, MB
Leanne Patriquin, NS

SPONSOR: Novo Nordisk Canada Inc. $1,000.00

This award supports the professional development of healthcare professionals in their specialty practice. To this end, scholarships of up to $1000 are offered to DES members who require financial assistance to attend the CDA/CSEM Professional Conference and Annual Meetings.

DES Length of Service Awards

25 Years Marilyn Rabbitts, NL

15 Years Jo-Ann Koster, ON
Pam Noseworthy, NL
Anne Garrett, ON

5 Years Kathryn Arcudi, QC
Cynthia Keith, NS

The DES Length of Service Awards has been instituted for DES volunteers.

Recipients of the DES Length of Service Award will be presented with pins and certificates for service in 5 Year increments at the Canadian Diabetes Association Professional Conference and Annual General Meetings held in October each year.


The Canadian Diabetes Association, Diabetes Education Standards Recognition Program grants Recognition that a Diabetes Education Centre successfully meets the Standards for Diabetes Education in Canada. Participation in the Standards Recognition Program is voluntary; centres must complete a self-evaluation process, and then apply for national Recognition from the Canadian Diabetes Association.

To attain Recognition status, a Diabetes Education Centre must demonstrate achievement of a minimum of 80% of the Standards for Diabetes Education in Canada (2005) within each of the Outcome, Process and Structure categories.

The following Centres achieved Recognition status with the Canadian Diabetes Association in 2007.

Standards Recognition Program Recipients

Central Okanagan Diabetes Program
Hay River Health & Social Services Diabetes Team
Hotel Dieu Hospital Diabetes Education Centre
Diabetes Care Centre of St. Michael’s Hospita
Trillium Health Centre – Diabetes Management Centre

Keep diabetes research moving forward

Your donation will ensure research never stops – help End Diabetes Now.