Skip to Content
Donate

Right now, there are 11 million Canadians living with diabetes or prediabetes. Every three minutes, another man, woman or child is diagnosed. Diabetes is a chronic, sometimes fatal disease in which sugar builds up in the blood instead of being used for energy, causing damage to organs, blood vessels and nerves. It’s a complex disease with no known cure.

For many kids with Diabetes, there is often no one else in their school that can relate to living with type 1 and they can struggle with being open about it. A diagnosis also brings a whole new set of skills for kids to learn, from how to test their blood sugar, and recognize a high or low, maintaining a balance between food, insulin and activity.

At D-Camps, kids get a break from being different. Campers often go home with a new level of independence in managing their diabetes and a feeling of empowerment that helps them continue the healthy practices they learned at camp.

On May 31st, 2020 the Sikh Motorcycle Club of Canada is hosting a national Ride Against Diabetes.  Thousands of riders will come together across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and Halifax with their collective goal of raising $100,000. All funds raised will go to help send kids with type 1 diabetes to Diabetes Canada’s D-Camps. Please refer to the Sikh Motorcycle Club of Ontario's website for details on each province. www.rideforcause.ca

Awareness and fundraising events like the Sikh Motorcycle Club’s Ride Against Diabetes are essential in the fight to end diabetes and saves lives by spreading the word about diabetes and sending more kids to camp.

Starting Location:

Brampton Soccer Centre
1495 Sandalwood Pkwy E, Brampton, ON L6R 0K2
OR
Gurdwara Khalsa Prakash
7955 County Rd 42, Maidstone, ON N0R 1K0

Ending Location:

Banting House National Historic Site
442 Adelaide St N, London, ON N6B 3H8

Diabetes Canada Contacts Nation Wide

Ontario

Nicole Holder-Dulson, Manager, Community Engagement
Nicole.Holder-Dulson@diabetes.ca

Kalpa Pathak, Senior Coordinator Community Engagement
Kalpa.Pathak@diabetes.ca

British Columbia

Simon Trevelyan, Region Director
Simon.Trevelyan@diabetes.ca

Pegah Behnammoradi, Development Coordinator
Pegah.Behnammoradi@diabetes.ca

Nova Scotia

Lisa Matte, Regional Director, Maritime
Lisa.Matte@diabetes.ca

Kerry Tench, Senior Account Manager
Kerry.Tench@diabetes.ca

Alberta

Scott McRae, Regional Director, Alberta/NWT
Scott.McRae@diabetes.ca

Ben Crews, Manager, Community Engagement
Ben.Crews@diabetes.ca

Manitoba

Kelly Lambkin, Manager, Community Engagement
Kelly.Lambkin@diabetes.ca

Andrea Kwasnicki, Regional Director, Manitoba & Nunavut
Andrea.Kwasnicki@diabetes.ca

Saskatchewan

Faith Rowland, Account Manager, Community Development
Faith.Rowland@diabetes.ca

Andrea Kwasnicki, Regional Director, Manitoba & Nunavut
Andrea.Kwasnicki@diabetes.ca

Ride For Cause

Location Details

May 31, 2020
9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Nation Wide

Get Directions

Categories: Other

Contact us

If you have any questions, please reach out to:

The web page contains a third-party event listing that is not in any way, controlled or operated by Diabetes Canada. Diabetes Canada does not assume any risk, liability or responsibility related to these events. Any and all questions or concerns should be directed to the third-party event management.